The Silver Medal Award

The American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award Program, established in 1959, annually recognizes an outstanding member of the local advertising community. The men and women who are honored with this award make outstanding contributions to advertising and have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern.

This award is not necessarily given every year. During the year when it is given, it is traditionally awarded on the night of the American Advertising Awards Gala for maximum recognition among peers.

Past winners have managed radio stations and advertising departments. They have been media sales reps, printers, freelancers, magazine and newspaper publishers, agency owners, creative directors, copywriters, media buyers and account executives. They’ve owned market research firms, recording studios and video production companies. The backgrounds and skill sets of previous winners are as diverse as the field of advertising itself. Their common thread, however, is a love of the industry and a proven history of contribution to our local advertising community.

The AAF-Daytona Beach and our community recognizes the following recipients as part of our Silver Medal Legacy Club:

Silver Medal Awards
1963 Houston Lawing
1964 Bill Seitz
1965 George Schmidt
1966 Bob Webber
1967 Floyd Kay
1968 Jim Bosand and Fred Steadman
1969 Sedgeley Thombury
1970 George Tracy
1971 Tom Staed
1977 Lee Marshall
1978 Jim Benedict
1979 Don Shepherd (posthumously)
1980 Bob Hughes
1981 Sanoma Robertson
1982 W. John Johns
1983 Mike Jiloty
1984 Greg Snelling
1985 Jim Shipley
1987 John E Evans
1988 Clark Winchester
1989 Tippen Davidson
1990 Sally Snelling
1991 Tony Welch
1992 Martha Vancamp
1993 Edee Dalke
1994 Jerry Doty
1995 Tom Lindley
1996 Alan Robertson
1997 Chris Scali
1998 Steve Wise
1999 Thom Giordano
2000 Joetta Raylots
2002 Sharon Damante
2003 Angela Cameron
2004 Pam Moss
2005 Vickie Foley
2006 Jan Edwards
2007 Sharon Mock
2008 Michael Benedict
2009 Nikki Linn
2010 Kay Galloway & Dean O’Brien
2011 Ira Heller
2012 Debbie Berner
2013 Scott Disbennett
2014 Carl Brigandi
2015 Steven Smith
2016 Michael Panaggio
2017 Alin Jacobs (posthumously)
2018 Bissy Holden
2019 Dale Roberts

Thank you to our sponsors
Sponsor Sponsor Sponsor Sponsor
Get invites to upcoming speakers, luncheons, socials and events.